Dr. Gerber has an excellent website where he posts informative videos like this one, about the impressive antioxidant benefits of hibiscus, which appear to be greater than green tea. In addition, hibiscus has anti-inflammatory properties, lowers blood pressure, improves cholesterol, and may have anti-cancer effects (see here.

I have tried Gerber’s recipe and it is delicious; it is very easy to make and tastes like fruit punch. I tend to use stevia and Just Like Sugar, and I do blend in the mint leaves. After about a week of doing this, I am noticing increased energy and a quicker recovery from workouts. As Gerber notes, you can simply add bulk hibiscus to a blender with the lemon, mint, and date sugar (or a few pitted dates).

However, variety is the spice of life, and green or white tea has nutrients that hibiscus doesn’t, so I plan to alternate my hibiscus drink with some cold-brewed tea. Why cold-brewed? Well there’s less acid and caffeine for one thing, but also the antioxidant content is higher! See Gerber’s video here. And I won’t add cow’s milk, which cancels many of the benefits of tea (see here, but lemon, which increases the bioavailability of the nutrients.

